top of page


Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Incorporated is a non-profit 501(c)(7) organization that is divided into eight intercontinental regions and 875+ Chapters located in the USA, Africa, Europe, Asia and the Caribbean.

Our beloved organization was founded on January 16, 1920, at Howard University, Washington, D.C. The Klan was active during this period, and the Harlem Renaissance was acknowledged as the first important movement of Black artists and writers in the U.S. This same year the Volstead Act became effective, heralding the start of Prohibition and Tennessee delivered the crucial 36th ratification for the final adoption of the 19th amendment giving women the right to vote. The worst and longest economic recession to hit the U.S. would define the end of the decade-The Great Depression.

Within this environment, five coeds envisioned a sorority that would directly affect positive change, chart a course of action for the 1920s and beyond, raise people’s consciousness, encourage the highest standards of scholastic achievement, and foster a greater sense of unity among its members. These women believed that sorority elitism and socializing overshadowed the real mission of progressive organizations and failed to address fully the societal mores, ills, prejudices, and poverty affecting humanity in general and the black community in particular.

Learn more about Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Incorporated..

Website Banner (1).png


The Atlantic Region was formed in 1944 when the northern states of the Eastern  Region were separated from the southern states.

The Atlantic Region was formed in 1944 when the northern states of the Eastern  Region were separated from the southern states. The region, comprised of  Connecticut, Delaware, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New  Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Vermont, Ghana, Germany and  Greater London, has the distinction of being home to three of the Founders of  Zeta Phi Beta. They are Arizona Cleaver Stemons of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania;  Myrtle Tyler Faithful of Towson, Maryland; and Fannie Pettie Watts of Brooklyn,  New York. 


The Atlantic Region has the honor of being home to Zeta Phi Beta’s first graduate  chapter – Alpha Zeta, and the second undergraduate chapter – Gamma Chapter  both of which are located in Baltimore, Maryland. The chapter at Morgan State  University was named Gamma Chapter, which is same name as its Sigma  Brothers on the campus. 

Also included in the Atlantic Region are chapters located in Africa and Germany.  Zeta Phi Beta was the first Greek-lettered organization to establish chapters in  Africa in 1948 during the administration of International President Lullelia  Harrison. Since that time, donations of supplies have been sent from American  sorors to the African continent. Recently, chapters in the United States have  supported Africa by establishing water wells as part of Zeta’s Z-HOPE (Zeta’s  Helping Other People Excel) Program. 

Mu Theta Zeta Chapter in Darmstadt, West Germany continues to thrive through  the work of sorors stationed in Germany due to military service. The chapter  continues to provide scholarships and implement programs such as blankets for  babies that support the community. In 2014, the Atlantic Region increased Zeta’s  outreach by chartering chapters in Greater London, England and in Belgium. And in 2016, our first international Amicae Auxiliary was chartered in Brussels,  Belgium, Ghana, and Liberia.

The region is especially proud of the nine progressive women who lived in the  Atlantic Region who have served in the capacity of International President of  Zeta. Arizona Cleaver Stemons (1920-21), Myrtle Tyler Faithful (1921-22),  Joanna Ransom (1922-23), Nellie Buchanan (1923-25), S. Evelyn Lewis  (1925-26), Deborah Partridge Cannon Wolfe (1953-65), Janice G. Kissner  (1974-80), Dr. Edith V. Francis (1980-86), Valerie Hollingsworth-Baker (2018- 2022), and Stacie N.C. Grant (2022-present) served at the highest level of the national organization with honor.

The dynamic women who have served in the roles of Regional Director through  the years have each left an indelible imprint on the region. Their contributions  range from implementing sound business practices, holding joint regional  conferences with the Brothers of Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity, purchasing the home  of Founder Arizona Cleaver Stemons (now owned by Beta Delta Zeta Chapter,  Philadelphia, PA), and creating a scholarship in her name.

Our Region


Formerly a part of the Tri-State, the sorority became an independent state again  in 2020. 

Prior to the formation of the Tri-State, Sorors Jeannette Bowen (1980-1981) and  Angela B. Johnson (1981-1986) served as Massachusetts State Directors. 

Under the administration of International Grand Basileus Eunice S. Thomas and  Atlantic Regional Director Mary E. Fields, the states of Connecticut,  Massachusetts, and Rhode Island were unified under one Zeta state, known as  the Tri-State. On March 14, 1987, Soror Theresa Hoover was unanimously  approved by the three states and was appointed by Soror Fields, thus becoming  the first Tri-State Director of Connecticut, Massachusetts, and Rhode Island. 

Soror Hoover remained in the position of Tri-State Director for one year before  moving to another state. Soror Jeanette Bowen of Delta Omicron Zeta Chapter,  MA followed Soror Hoover and remained in office until 1994. Throughout the  years, the sorors of Massachusetts have had the privilege of working under many  great leaders throughout the Tri-State area of our illustrious sisterhood. 

As Zeta moves forward into another century of service and looks to expand its  footprint; under the administration of International Centennial Grand Basileus  Valarie Hollingsworth Baker and Atlantic Regional Director Gina Merritt-Epps,  Esq., the Tri-State was separated once again; becoming an independent state as  the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, with Soror Shatara L. Grimsley serving as  the 3rd State Director for Massachusetts. Soror Bridget Bostic of Pi Lambda Zeta  Chapter, CT (2018-2021) had the honor of serving as the last Tri-State Director. 

Our Commonwealth


*****Listed in chronological order*****

  • Soror Jeannette Bowen (Delta Omicron Zeta) * (d.2010) 

  • Soror Angela B. Johnson (Delta Omicron Zeta) * (d.2013) 

  • Soror Shatara L. Grimsley (Omega Eta Zeta) 


bottom of page